Modeling a watch

Hi everyone!
I am new to blenderartists and wanted to share my current work in progress. I have been using blender for a while now - mostly for fun and as a hobby. I was always more interested in shaders and node setups to create realistic materials but I wanted to get more into modeling and thought I would model a watch I own (Tissot T-Touch … and NO i am not affiliated with them just happen to own and like one). I started with taking a picture looking straight on to the face of the watch to use as a reference background. Then I started with the most obvious part, the bezel (outer ring with the compass letters N-W-E-S on it) … and immediately realized, that every part of that watch is a rather complex piece of metal and actually quite challenging to recreate. I thought I will post my learning by doing progess here. Looking forward to your feedback!
The photo was not perfectly aligned with the camera but i model everything around the center with perfect symmetry.

I actually redid the bezel several times cuz something always didn’t quite work out with subdiv and the boolean cutouts… but i got it in the end and am happy with the result and learned a lot in the process.

Attachments

Then i went on to model the watch case including the lugs (all in 1 piece) and the back of the case which has 6 indentations (and actual holes in it - i guess for the altimeter). I Used simple cubes and boolean and then deleted the faces where the holes are. Also started playing with materials…

Attachments

made the 3 buttons on the side (and cutouts in the case)

Attachments