Ndemic's Daily Sculpts. C&C Please!!

Hi everyone!

I’m Nick and I have long been fascinated by digital sculpture and inspired by a lot of the stunning work being produced on these forums. It’s been a dream of mine to learn to sculpt but I have been putting it off for many years, I guess due to the worry that my initial work won’t be very “good”.

I have recently managed to shake this ridiculous notion (everyone has to start somewhere!) and have set myself the goal of sculpting everyday. Heads, faces, body parts, characters etc, it doesn’t matter as long as I am working. If I practice everyday I will improve, gradually I’m sure, but it will happen!

The reason for this thread then, is as a sincere plea to you all for your critiques and criticism. It is only through receiving feedback that I will be able to really improve and grow. So please, if you feel like you can offer me some advice, it will be gratefully received!

Many thanks!!

01/01 - Day One

So here is my sculpt from day one. I didn’t use any reference, I was just trying to get used to working in Blender, learning the shortcuts etc. I added in a nose towards the end, and ended up with some artifacts in the mesh. I thought I used the Snake Hook brush, but I guess that maybe I used the Grab brush and that caused the issue?

02/01 - Day Two

A nose. What’s the best practice for sculpting in Blender? Using Dyntopo or the Multires Mesh Modifier? I think I used both on this sculpt. Is this a mistake?

03/01 - Day Three

Today I produced a horrible ear, which to be honest looks a lot better in the render than it did in Blender! I’m not sure if I was trying to sculpt in too high of a resolution, or whether my use of the Grab and Rotate brushes deformed the mesh too much, but I kept having to deal with loads of creases and artifacts. I also really struggled with cutting away the clay from behind the ear.

04/01 - Day Four