Vary material color for multiple objects

Hi guys,

Is there a way to vary one material’s properties for multiple objects?

For example, if I were to create multiple objects and have one material assigned to them can I get some color variation amongst the different objects?

The attached image is an example of what I mean. Each coffee bean is brown but some are darker brown while others are almost orange.

Thanks for the help.

Object info/Random -> Noise (42.5, 0, 42.5) -> Color Ramp with the colors you want. The 42.5 (the fractional part) values will ensure color output, where you may want to use only one channel to drive the ramp. Leave noise detail at 0, not needed. I tend to also use some additional contrast to ensure the min/max values are actually reached.

1 Like

Hi CarlG,

Thanks for sharing that node setup. It works great for my need!

This is quite advanced for me and since I’m new to Blender I still don’t understand the logic behind the setup. I’ve read the Blender documentation about the object info node and understand how it is being applied here however are there any links you can share that can help a beginner like me to understand, for example, why 42.5 ensures color output. I had a quick read about color management on the Blender documentation and understood the issue about different color spaces. However your comment about color output still isn’t clear to me. I played around with the node setup and saw that if the 42.5 value is reduced the number of variations of colors is also reduced. Is this what you mean by ensuring the color output? I used a viewer node to analyze the output of the noise node. At low values (around 0.01 to 0.1) each of the objects has a color that is similar to the one next to it. At values above 1 there is already a lot of variation. Could you explain in more detail or share any links that could help me understand what’s going on when this scale value of the noise node is altered? The Blender documentation says that the sc