Eiko Ojala's digital paper: is it "easy"?

Hi.

I am fond of Eiko Ojala’s digital paper:

This is a particular of his Vertical Landscape and it is completely CG.

I am not a graphics professional, but I am in love with those shadows and bent paper, and I would like to learn Blender with this target project in mind.

What I would like to understand, as my time at the moment is very limited, is if a drawing like this is almost straightforward in Blender, after I will learn how to cut the plane, or if it will take me ages just to move on from the basics to reach the necessary expertise.

I know it is a kind of a silly question, but I have been flabbergasted by the apparent complexity of Blender’s interface. I am afraid to spend too much time on the basics and then stop for ages in the mud because some cryptic flag is not set…

What do you think? If you were to make a tutorial, would it be feasible for newbies?
Or am I aiming to high?

Thank you in advance for any idea here.

The reason for that is because Blender can be used for all stages in the pipeline http://www.upcomingvfxmovies.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/3d_production_timelines.jpeg

The program is vast, but it’s not the interface that is hard to learn. It’s relatively easy and these will get you going with that
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL0AfIdK08E7_PKsXOO_yuAql9b3hdcwPR

And it’s even easier when you don’t have preconceived notions on how it should work like a person that is coming from other programs or fields might have, and would have to pay attention on how to learn it http://nimblecollective.com/learning-blender-why/ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqSEtTF8hPE&feature=youtu.be&t=527