Alpha over ignores set alpha

Hello,
I’m quite new to the compositor so maybe my question is naive but please bear with me XD
Okay so I am doing some tests, I want a chair to be set on the floor of a picture, and on the floor, just under the chair, I want a wireframe render of the supposed ground to imply that the chair is intersecting with the floor.

Basically, I made a model of the floor on which I have rendered a free style, and I have put a circular plane on the spot I want the freestyle to be visible so I could use it as a mask.

On my first try it almost worked, but the problem was I didn’t like how it looked because the wireframe went over the chair, yet I wanted the other way around.

So I have done this:

Here’s how I reasoned through this: I have my three render layers, that is to say the chair, the free style and the intersection. I started by treating the intersection: I took the alpha and blurred it so it gave me a black and white mask through with the free style would appear and disappear smoothly in a circle beneath the chair.
Then I took my free style render layer, and with the set alpha, I told it that now its alpha was the one I had just designed with the blur below. Then I combined it with the chair with an alpha over, and the result was what I wanted:

So until this point, no particular problem. I then decide to combine this image to the background image… And here it gives me this:

I have absolutely no idea how it can possibly give me this when I changed the alpha of the freestyle so that it shows up only under the armchair. I even tried to save the view of the freestyle through the mask as an image and combine that image, I still get the same result…

Can you help me please?

Thank you!
Popi

This has to do with how alpha actually works. In the Image Editor window that you’re seeing the results through, it doesn’t provide you with all the information.

The screenshot below shows the RGBA button, which is described in the documentation.