Rigging a Lamp-Mesh is moving upward while trying to parent it to bone.

Hi, everyone!!! I am new to Blender.So it may seem a silly question to you what I am going to ask now:(.
I am trying to build an animated lamp following Udemy tutorial. I have made a bit of that lamp and trying to rig that portion.Problem is, when I am trying to parent the upper arm of the lamp with the corresponding bone.It jumped up a little bit upwards.I know the solution is simple but I can not sort it out.I have applied mirror modifier to that upper arm mash.I have attached the file.Thanks everyone in advance.Have a great day!!!Lamp_faulty.blend (538 KB)

Hi, and welcome to the forums!

First, thanks for posting a .blend file and describing the problem in detail. However, in the file you posted the arm is parented to the bone, and clearing the parenting doesn’t cause the bone to return to it’s start position. So I can’t really re-produce you’re problem. Do you have a copy of the file before you parented the part to the bone? Could you post that file?

Randy

It would be helpful to save the file in the state before you parented to the bone so we can see what happens.

EDIT: oops. Forgot to refresh the page. Sorry. Wrote this hours ago. Same as above.

Hi and welcome to the forum as my good friend Randy has said.

I have looked at your file and noticed the following:

1. Your meshes have unapplied rotations and their origins are not at the centre of rotation of the mesh, the last point is not critical, but makes life easier for “Bone” parents:

1. Your armature bones have two issues; the bones are not in line when viewed from the side, just look at the left view and you will see the discrepancy, also they have weird bone rolls, cause by the construction techniques you used: