Material vs Texture vs UV Unwrap vs Baking

Hey guys,

I have been pretty in depth with modeling for quite some time, but the texture and material side of most programs always gets me. I have tried to watch many tutorials, but they are confusing me more than helping.

I am creating a game with a developer friend of mine and doing all the GFX. I started out using node editor with cycles engine and made some really great materials when I rendered, but I found out I would need to uv unwrap them to say export to Unity or Godot.

Here are my questions.

If I export to a game engine like Unity or Godot how is a timeline or what is the best approach.

• Materials I can apply easy using Node Editor and adding a image, but that cannot be exported out along with the model to use in a game engine right? If it is possible how I am not technically unwrapping the image.
  • I have heard the term baking so would I essentially bake the material or texture on to allow this option.
  • Do I even need a texture or certain maps such as normal map etc?
  • If not do I still have to uv unwrap the model to follow the steps.

I think for me a workflow or timeline would be absolutely amazing. The game will have a series of tunnels and pipes so I would be mainly unwrapping or doing materials to cylinders. So many options, but I am so confused!! If I can get by without unmapping and just getting a basic material on to the model to import into a game engine would be ideal as it does not need to be super high in texture.

Example 1 is the image tunnel I am trying to unwrap. For now it is just the big tunnel not any of the items inside. I am viewing “texture” which is why it has the image applied