Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1

    Davinci is integrating Fusion

    Now Fusion is integrated into Davinci Resolve, so you can composite clips in the timeline - Blender could have been the first software to do this if there was a little more faith in the VSE.

    Resolve press meeting:



  2. #2
    The VSE sadly never got the attention it needed to actually become a good editor. I know some people use it, but not many.
    Over 40 shorts, three features. I am EL DIRECTOR
    indierebel.co - The ultimate VFX training with free software
    facebook.com/leap3movie - My latest film in progress



  3. #3
    Lets see what eevee 2.8 brings (viewport compositing)



  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    688
    This sounds very interesting and I'm intrigued how it plays out, but it seems like Fusion standalone might be discontinued (nothing announced regarding new version) and this means that there is one comp software less. Resolve with Fusion tab will not be a proper comp software, it will be a frakengradingeditor with comp capabilities.



  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Germany, Saarland
    Posts
    140
    Now, let's hope the switch to 15 will be free. I bought a Resolve Studio 14 license just a few days ago.



  6. #6
    Member tungee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Germany Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,576
    On the german Cutter forum Slashcam they said the update will be likely free..
    Wohoo what a great company!
    In the end, only blender will surrender
    i7 4770 - 2x GTX 780 ti- 32GB



  7. #7
    Member Stuntkoala's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Germany - Baden Würtemberg
    Posts
    102
    I really hope they don't discontinue Fusion standalone. I really like it, although for me it seems like it was more stable when eyeon developed it. Had a lot of crashes since v8.



  8. #8
    Originally Posted by m_squareGFX View Post
    Now, let's hope the switch to 15 will be free. I bought a Resolve Studio 14 license just a few days ago.
    From the BMD forum

    Screenshot_20180410-141001.jpg



  9. #9
    Great update! Hope it's stable and doesn't become sluggish.

    By the way, is the free version of DaVinci Resolve also going to have the Fusion built in?
    Or they are discontinuing the free version?



  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    688
    Originally Posted by saiko View Post
    By the way, is the free version of DaVinci Resolve also going to have the Fusion built in?
    Or they are discontinuing the free version?
    It will. There are some feature differences but main functionality will be there. And there will be new version of Fu standalone also, as confirmed in one interview with BMD representative. They did pull a "funny" stunt with their PR though, and mood in Fu forum does not look too bright yet.



  11. #11
    Great update indeed. As a final cut pro user on Mac, i tried all the free/open source/freemium windows video editors, and once I found Davinci Resolve, I haven't looked back. Now, very happy they are adding further value to their free version with Fusion. The only other software that comes close in terms of value/price is Hitfilm Express, but you still have to pay for some of the features that Resolve comes with.

    Wishing that Blender's VSE gets just amount of attention in 2.8, especially with text and titles. Would be very happy to use it as well.
    Architectural concept design with Blender | UHStudio | Youtube



  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    688
    Just to give another angle at this whole Fusion thing... I'm mostly using Nuke for my comp work, and one expectation I had was that Fusion will amp itself up to give Nuke some real competition. It didn't. Instead of fixing bugs and making the core stronger BMD again decided to do some fancy stuff instead (probably meaning another "for next NAB it will be great" cycle) which is very interesting for everyone except compositors. And this means that there is again less incentive for Foundry to pull itself together faster regarding Nuke. There is core stuff allegedly being done, but the actual development intent is just as vague as for BMD. <irony>Fortunately for Nuke users, Foundry can't make stunts like BMD just as easily because Nuke is actually used for comping </irony>



  13. #13
    Member Sunghoon-Jung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Seoul, South Korea
    Posts
    64
    Cool. It looks like a rival to Nike Studio.
    By the way, where is the license page?
    I wonder if users can commercially use the free version.
    Last edited by Sunghoon-Jung; 11-Apr-18 at 23:23.



  14. #14
    Originally Posted by Sunghoon-Jung View Post
    Cool. It looks like a rival to Nike Studio.
    By the way, where is the license page?
    I wonder if users can commercially use the free version.
    http://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/vi...4e4b3698833515

    "i can confirm you can use the free version of DaVinci Resolve for personal and commercial projects, free."
    Win 7 - GTX 750TI



  15. #15
    Originally Posted by NewVisitor View Post
    http://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/vi...4e4b3698833515

    "i can confirm you can use the free version of DaVinci Resolve for personal and commercial projects, free."
    I can also confirm that, which is good news. Not-so-good news is the Win version doesn't support Win 7, which is still common in the corporate world.



  16. #16
    Originally Posted by dgorsman View Post
    I can also confirm that, which is good news. Not-so-good news is the Win version doesn't support Win 7, which is still common in the corporate world.
    Did you test it?

    Version 14 should also run only under Windows 10, but ran with small restrictions under Win 7.



  17. #17
    Originally Posted by Dito View Post
    Did you test it?

    Version 14 should also run only under Windows 10, but ran with small restrictions under Win 7.
    No, that was direct from their tech support. I've got a personal build brewing that will be able to use it, though, so I'm not going to play around with compatibility (and IT) on my work computer.



  18. #18
    Originally Posted by dgorsman View Post
    No, that was direct from their tech support. I've got a personal build brewing that will be able to use it, though, so I'm not going to play around with compatibility (and IT) on my work computer.
    Thanks for your answer.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •