Import Image as Planes and the Alpha background

I am a complete beginner in blender so this might sound very trivial.

I am trying to make a Flappy Bird Clone and I am using the “Import Images as Planes” Method to create a Plane with the Bird as a texture. I then enable to use Alpha everywhere so it’s transparent (the inital png file is transparent too).

After that I export it as a OBJ File, and I am reading in the VAO’S from the obj file to render it onto a Display. However in the end it looks like this:

I thought enabling the Alpha will make it transparent, instead I got these black square with the texture on top. How can I remove the black square or make it transparent/invisible ?
I appreciate every help.

In the material settings ensure you have enabled Transparency.
Please always supply a demo blend file (with your texture packed in the blend file) for support questions as the screenshot supplied is insufficient

Good idea. Totally forgot I could do that.

This is the blend file I try to render onto the Display:FlappyBird.blend (512 KB)

In the material settings in the Transparency panel, set the Alpha slider to zero

did just that, however you can still see the black square.

Attachments

FlappyBird.blend (512 KB)

What are you using for the background ? That is not included in the supplied blend file.

Supply a blend file that only one needs to press Render to get the exact finished render as you have

In the node editor just plug the alpha input from the flappy image into the alpha of the other node.

Without alpha plugged in…

With alpha plugged in…

@Richard Marklew
You don’t see the background because it has its own blend file. I am rendering it in Eclipse using OpenGL.

@FlyingBanana
I did just that and it turned out like this: