Best workflow when starting/learning

I started learning Blender few weeks ago and I was wondering if expert users could suggest me what’s the best workflow during the first months of learning.

In particular I am not sure which one of the 2 following approaches I should follow:

• Spending a lot of time on every project trying to make it as good and as complex as I can.
  • Spending enough time on every projects to get things nice and then move to something new.

To give you a practical example, I finished a model of a Greek temple last night and I am pretty happy with the result, but I could spend another month working on it just adding the surrounding environment (grass, trees, mountains, sky, other ruins, etc…) and minor details.
Should I do it or should I move to something new?

Look.
Every part of entourage surrounding a temple is another project (to link or append) :wink: which you’ll revisit and use over & over & over…

It really is nothing new, just grinding… panta rhei, wabi-sabi

More work you do the more you learn and more you learn how to learn more. :wink:

Mistakes may be even more educational than success.

He he, thanks, it makes sense and after all it would be silly to limit myself to A or B only.

Is that both then? :stuck_out_tongue:

I would try to recreate a scene from a movie or a photograph that you really like. Get it as close as you possibly can, then post it for people to critique, use the advice to make changes and then call it done. Then repeat 10 more times, after you are done with the 10, pick 5 or 6 or the best ones and throw those in your portfolio. From reading about all of the great artist from Disney to Marvel there seems to be a few common themes.

1. Practice a lot (push yourself to do things that you have no clue how to do, an interesting read http://www.pavelsiska.com/making-of-saurora/)