Ludwig: Fully Rigged Character + Walk Cycle Tutorial

The powers that be have decided to put the ludwig thread in both the gallery and tutorial sections. The thread you are currently reading is the Tutorial thread. These are tutorials written by LGM about animating with Ludwig. These are not rigging tutorials.

Learning to Walk (Animating walk cycles)

Learning to Talk (Lipsyncing to a sound clip)

Please post any comments/questions etc about the tutorials in this thread. Post comments and questions about the Ludwig character here: http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=63614

original post:

Hello fellow blenderheads,

Ludwig is a character that I’ve been working on for the past several months. I originally started Ludwig when I began to get interested in lipsync. It occured to me that the Blender community does not have any free characters and rigs that are quite to the level of characters such as Generi (for Maya). Thus, I built Ludwig with the goal of him becoming Blender’s “Generi”. It is my hope that providing this character to the community will allow Blender users to compete in competitions such as the 10 Second Club on an equal footing with those using expensive proprietary software.

To give some credit where credit is due: Ludwig wouldn’t be what he is today without the excellent feedback from LGM. He’s been testing the Ludwig rig since before Ludwig could move his face ;). Also, I can’t claim that everything that went into the rig was my idea. I took alot of inspiration from Nozzy’s “Skinny Guy” and Slikdigit’s “Mancandy”.

So have fun! Lets see some animations!

Known bug: If you turn Ludwig’s head or torso so that he is looking backwards, the facial controls become inverted. No big deal really, but something to be aware of.

~sketchy

Update!!! Walk Cycle Tutorial

LGM has put together a very detailed and indepth tutorial on making Ludwig walk. You can view the tutorial online here:
Learning to Walk

Or download the entire tutorial here: