Import script for M2 files (WoW models)

Hello

I wrote a script someone might be interested in. It takes care of loading .M2 files, the models from World of Warcraft. It currently supports uv’s, normals, boneweights, mesh configuration (check the help text in the plugin) and loading and binding of the armature.

You can get it here: M2 import v0.7.1alpha

I have had animation support working but broke it when I started coding the GUI, so I’ll add that in the next version. Also, getting textures to map correctly as in: this image requires some work. The engine cuts the clothing and face textures together dynamically, so you’ll have to do that manually in PS§ or GIMP.

A screenshot of the mesh configuration UI

Have fun!

• dreeze

Looks really cool, but whenever I try to load a .m2 I get a “struct.error: unpack str size does not match format” error…
I’m using Blender 2.43 with a Python 2.4.4 install on Windows XP SP2 x86
Pythonpath variable is correctly set… any idea?
Thank you in advance…

I’ve been trying to find the .M2 files but I can’t see them anywhere in the WoW game map.

.M2 files are embeded into .MPQ (those are a sort of archive files, like zips).
You need to search for an MPQEditor application somewhere on the net in order to be able to open them and extract files.

Hmm… okay, I haven’t tested the script in windows, I’m gonna try doing that and see what happens. I’ll get back to you.

There we go. I hope this works. I updated the link in the first post (version 0.7.1alpha).

Confirmed! It works now… now I’ll begin doing some tests (at the moment looks like not all the mesh have the UV coords).
Many thanks for the prompt solution!

I think the UV’s are correct (I could be wrong though), it’s how the engine treats the character textures that’s a bit of a mess (but it’s efficient renderingwise)