18 Legg'ed Freaks! [LightFlow Spider Mech]

Made me’self a wee li’l spidermech. Took about an hour to model in a fit of nostalgia. GI + Raytracing in Lightflow.

http://www.jonlake.com/gallery/spidermech.jpg
[800x600]
5 hours export (ugh!),
1 hour render.

-Jon

Compostition sucks, I know, I’ll make another one where it’s better.

wow, not too shabby

animate him in lightflow

I’ll be in this house for another year or two, so i look forward ot it before i leave (yay, an hour a frame… 5 for motion blujr)

WOW!!! :o :o :o

F*#&ING AWESOME!

My only crit is, where are the hydraulic hoses? You have all those nice cylinders there, but no hoses?!?! Sorry, I’m a mechanical engineer and I notice these things.

Very cool model though.

BgDM

Nice, this 2 legged freak likes it!!! :wink:

Matt

Blend on, and blend well!!!

MEEEEEEGAA COOOL

WOW
GIGA
Extrem cool

Very cool, but…
how are those hydraulics gonna work?? ( no hoses )
you might wanna change that

I like it but I’m a freak for robots.

Paradox

WOAH man!

I love this! it’s easy to model. Makes me want to start blendering inmediately. geeeezzz…i’m jst…speechless

have you posted it at another forum yet? like CGchat.com or cgtalk.com?
I strongely encourage you to do so. it’s an amazing work, and I would like to see everybodies comments when you say it’s made in blender :smiley:

Roel

wow! thats so cool! it made me go download lightflow! but, oh god, how do i use this thing! i have the blender export script and all, but it aint working…boooo…
that is a great pic man, really great!

Beauty. 5 hours export, huh? It looked so realistic, I almost expected to see a consumer warning label on one of the legs.

Fantastic modelling! Really good!
You used an arealight for that? I personally actually
like the bit of noise you see, to me that makes it
come more alive, some renders tend to look too clean
sometimes.

And to everybody else, the 5 hour export is ‘exclusive’ to the old script.