1980 Cadillac

Hello,
this is my first attempt to model a car. It is supposed to be a 1980 Cadillac. Its in a very early stage still, but took some time already.(including a long break) I have only viewport renders to present for now.
Yes, it is the outer “hull” only. And misses still some parts. I began with the front part, then continued with the back, because i find the middle the hardest part. since i have only some normal reference photos (no exact template drawing) , i must guess the correct curvatures, angles and slopes at some places.
Especially the doors on the photo have lots of decoration stripes, so i need lots of edgeloops there(maybe a texture would serve better ?)

scorpion81

Edit: change of thread thumbnail (4th time)

1 Like

Hello,
its been almost a year since i worked on this, tried a new attempt in the meantime, mesh still is wip and has some problems.
I made a viewport turntable render with fake car windows and only some placeholder materials:

Any suggestions how to improve the mesh / model ?

scorpion81

1 Like

Hello,

here my first render attempts for this model, and i did not render very much yet… so for me it looks not good.
Do you have some recommendations for me how to setup proper lighting and background ?
Dont think that the model itself is that bad, but it does not look great when rendered.
Btw, model is wip and windows are now more “view obstacles” so you dont see the void inside.
Wheels will follow later … (still to be modeled)

scorpion81

Quick update: added wheels !
Please comment, how do you like it now ?

another update: added tire profile, ground texture, tweaked the chromium material a bit ( all blender internal)
Hope i am going the right direction…

Looks like clean modeling – can’t tell without seeing a wireframe. Once you get it all modeled you should try rendering it with cycles – it’ll give you much better results.