Okay, I had just finished rigging a character and was deleting some unecessary vertex groups from a mesh parented to an armature, when I deleted the wrong group on accident. I hit Ctrl+Z and nothing seemed to happen, so I decided to reopen the file (which was saved before I deleted the vertex group) then blender crashed. So I opened it back up, but whenever I try to open that file in blender it crashes. So I opened the file by right clicking on the blend file, dragging it to the blender 2.40 icon, and clicking “open with.” Blender still crashes. Is there a way to save all my rigging work, or am I out of luck?
Actually, I didn’t lose that much work, because I had a separate file of the (naked!) guy rigged and all I had added was a cloak, but I would like to know if this is because blender 2.40 is unstable and if I can get back the old file. For future reference you understand.