2.5 suggestions (v3) win32 build 878_23406

edit: I’ve been told the original forums are kind of dead so I’m moving to here. http://www.blender.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=74256#74256

I edit these now and then as I learn. For reference I’m lead programmer (but do art also) on www.kartsim.com screenshots - http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=39101&sid=332e1585d6ec155ef1b0f38f2f3e0dd9
I’m also new to blender and don’t like other 3d modelling apps :slight_smile:

Misc

• On first run open a layout/key config selector with “blender/max/maya/xsi” etc setups. This would greatly help people transition (and stop endless arguments :wink: )

UI

• When tab is open, keep expanded when moving tabs. Or set ‘Open on mouseover’ to default

• Unfolding/folding

• If you unfold a menu and it extends below the screen, scroll the menu panel up. eg In ‘world’ mode open the ‘stamp’ pulldown. Imagine it smoothly scrolling up to show the contents.

• The inverse is true too. When closing something, if it makes a blank space under it, scroll the whole pane down.

• “Open on mouse over” is great (good default I think)

• Make it work for everything eg ‘mode’ menu, tab pulldowns.

• Default the time delay to 1 or 2. Allow it to go lower.

• Check boxes shouldn’t close menu. eg the sculpt menu closes everytime I click a checkbox. Or middle mouse to toggle and keep open.

• Decrease the tooltip popup time (prefs option at least)

Modelling

• Extruding. Pressing e WHILE extruding could place the current and start another extrude. Less clicks

• Multi object edit mode. When multiple objects are selected, allow edit mode to effect them all

• Multires. Show optional ghosted original mesh

Manipulation

• Super select mode! I suggest combining Shift-B marquee mode, ctrl+altmouse click lasso mode and shift multiselect into one streamlined mode. All three modes are inconsistant in their workings and all do similar things is totally seperate ways.