2.8 and menus (i.e. discoverability)?

I am a professional 3D content creator, but only a part-time Blender user.

I enjoy Blender when I use it, but since I don’t have the opportunity to use it all that often I find that I am not developing the muscle memory for all of the hidden options (which seem to make up a fair bulk of the usefulness of the program).

I have been following (and supported financially) the code quest and the general 2.8 development project only very loosely. I am excited to see all the amazing improvements.

My question is whether any progress has been made to move every option out of the shadows and into real menus. This seems like it is the biggest barrier for me (and even more so my colleagues) to using Blender more than I do. Every time I want to do something that I haven’t done in a while, I have to go to the docs to find the magic key combination that makes that option work. If there were menus like every other application that we use we could do some simple browsing and discover features that we don’t use on a regular basis (or never even knew existed).

I know search is an option (and I use it) but it isn’t the same thing.

Is this something that has been added to 2.8? Or is it planned? More than the “non-standard” UI (which isn’t really all that different from many other apps except for in a few key places) this is the bit that stops me and my colleagues from adopting Blender into our primary workflow. I hope this is a change that is being implemented! I would be very excited about that.

2 Likes

I don’t understand what you mean. The vast majority of blender’s options have been in menus since 2.5.

Can you quote some examples of things that aren’t discoverable?

Nothing changed in that front. Stuff are still scattered all over the place, for example, mesh tools like Loop cut/knife/poly build etc, they are not in the mesh or vertex/edges/faces menus, they only live in the left tool bar, which makes totally no sense.