2.8 Cycles transparent acrylic material not transparent

Hi,
I’m trying to make a tinted transparent acrylic material for a pencil sharpener basket in 2.8. I’m a relative newbie, and this is my first project in 2.8. I’ve tried following a couple of 2.79 tutorials that suggest mixing a principled shader (with high transmission value) with either a glass or transparent shader, but I keep getting a result that looks more reflective than transparent. Is this because of some 2.8 setting, or am I approaching this the wrong way?

Thanks.

1 Like

It does not look like cycles. You are sure you are not running Eevee or workbench?
Also, the transparent color node should be white, not brown.
In fact… the shader you are showing does not look like the image at all. The image have a metal structure where you point, but you use none in your principled… so are you really using that material on that place? Please check again so you really have selected the correct material.
As a note, you can never mix metal and transmission. It will not be transparent then.

If it’s EEVEE you have to make changes in two places. You have to enable Refraction in the Render tab and also turn it on in the setting of each material that needs refraction.

You don’t really have to mix a Glass shader in for something like this. Just set the Transmission, Roughness and IOR in Principled to something appropriate.

Switch to Cycles. That one looks nasty for Eevee to handle - red and table from multiple transmissive rays can’t be seen but your eyes would expect it.

Share a reference and possibly the object itself, and someone is more likely to give it a proper shot.

I agree that the image does look like Eevee, but according to the settings it’s in Cycles. FWIW I’m using an HDRI image with a couple of area lights for highlights.