2.8 Extrude/Vertex Snapping Problem

Hi Blender Artists community.

I’m sorry if this is a dumb question, but I’m new to Blender.

I’m building a millimetre perfect architectural model in Blender v2.80.53 on MacOS 10.14.4. I’ve been mostly using the extrude tool with Vertex snapping on to get the job done and it’s been working great. The model has grown (what I assume to be) quite large; 3482 verts, 6777 edges, 3267 faces, 6632 tris.

I have noticed some strange behaviour all of a sudden which is preventing me from continuing my work. I noticed I seem to be accidentally invoking commands with key presses. It may be that I’ve set some setting somewhere which is causing the problem.

The problem is with the extrude functionality I’ve been using. I’ve been pressing e to extrude a face, then I specify the exact length in the ‘Move Z’ field in the ‘Extrude Region and Move’ panel to achieve my accuracy. Rather than specifying the exact length, I may use Vertex snapping to set the length of the extrude. ‘Flip Normals’ is left off, Orientation is ‘Normal’ Proportional Editing is disabled.

What has started to happen is that I select a face for extrusion, press e, and the extrusion length appears in fields other than ‘Move Z’. That is, extrusion length appears in ‘Move X’ or ‘Move Y’. Sometimes, a seemingly unrelated length does appear in the ‘Move Z’ field in addition to the actual extrusion length in ‘Move X’ or ‘Move Y’.

Also, although the vertex snapping appears to be working (the circle showing which vertex will be snapped to is highlighting a vertex), the new extrusion does not snap to the correct length.

I’ve never seen the extrusion length appear in any field other than ‘Move Z’ and the vertex snapping has been bullet proof. Is this a bug or have a changed a setting somewhere?

Many thanks.

Not sure, but to me it always looks like this. extude_last