2D hack using 3D, Maybe? Your Thoughts required

I was thinking, (first of All, I am new to blender), I am making a 2D/3D game in unity, Everything is 2D but I wanted to give off a 3D vibe. For many reason, 3D models( low poly) are readily available, easy to make (for me). I can make low poly 3d models in blender now ( very beginner level). My Unity game is a platformer game… But I am confused whether to go for full 2D or Full 3D or somewhere in between. Lets suppose I want a 2D game since 3D is more performance heavy…

Is it possible that I make a model in 3D but slice it in half Since I am always showing only one side of the model. Is it possible that I Make the model in 3d (just as i want) and after making it, Slice the model in half and export it to unity. That will save the tris count etc and would serve the purpose as well as will be an optimization hack aswell.

what do you guys think?

Yes, that is possible.
I think if optimizing is necessary only importing the polygons you can see and need is standard.

If you want to make it completely 2D you can render a bunch of frames of your character for example and put them onto a single texture. This is sometimes called a “sprite sheet” or “texture atlas”. Then the game engine can cycle through these individual images and fake your character animation.

1 Like

Hi, I am making a 2d mobile game using unity. I have a few Questions.

I really like blender ( I am a beginner), there are tons of resource material available for the stuff I need for my game but its all in 3d. I want 2d.

There is a way is guess. some one told me to make whatever you like in blender in 3d and then render the face you want as 2d output and put it on a plane and export as a png and use as a 2d asset. I saw a tutorial about this and really like this approach.