2D SouthPark style animation with Blender?

Hello folks. I hope somebody can give me some insight on this issue ive been trying to figure out and work around for the longest time.
I’ve been using Sony Vegas to do a 2D cutout animation series for youtube for a while and i think switching to blender would help speed production up a bit, and I was wondering how southpark animators rig their 2D cutout characters so that they can switch out a front facing head for a side facing head, and so on. I cant figure out a decent method to achieve this. I tried putting each face, body direction on seperate layers, and then using keyframes to change the layers that each face, body direction is on, but it didnt work to well for me.
How exactly does southpark do this (replacement animation style ) in Maya, and can it be done the same way in blender? I saw a couple videos on youtube where they used a custom made script for switching and swapping body parts, but i have no experience with scripting. If anyone knows of a creative way to achieve this southPark style of animation, please let me know.

A really simple way to do it would be to use separate bones of an armature for each head, arm or whatever. Just move the parts you are not using off screen and when you go to switch parts clear the location of the bone with the part you want and key it for as long as it needs to be active.
Without knowing how much you know about animation I don’t know how much explanation you need but feel free to pm me if you have questions.

There was an article on blender nation a couple of months ago that had a link to a tutorial on how to do 2d animation in blender.
I can’t link you to it right now because I’m on my phone but you could probably find it if search for 2d animation on blendernation.com

Here you go: