3 Finished pics - Ring - 3 rings - Christmas

I think they pretty much speak for themselfs. Crits are always welcome.

Attachments

nice pics…

Thanks AniCator.

I’m having a hard time believing that only 1 person has replied… :frowning:

Oh, and it’s my birthday.

well happy birthday and no crits from me :wink:

nice did you use yafray?

The only one that used yafray was the one of 3 rings. I needed it for DOF and to make it look more smooth.

very nice ill need a new computer before i can make stuff this nice (my computer would blow up if i tried)

Those are awesome! I am a REAL newbie, so I have NO crits!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

well done

I think the first and third would look better in yafray imo. You might as well use yafray since they are all raytrace heavy, and yafray handles ray tracing better anyway.

Though I like the three rings in the second pic the most, I know that the string was probably the biggest challenge. did you use curves? I wouldn’t know how to shape them any other way.

how did you light the scene? I honestly don’t think my computer could handle using a hdri to light a scene like that.

btw… :D!HAPPY BIRTHDAY!:smiley:

Yeah… that 3 rings picture was a pain…

The string was just a very long, subdivided string that was conformed to a curve which was a path. (It was still quite hard)

The lighting was 100% introduced from the HDRI.

The backround image was the uffizi probe from Paul Devebek’s site. (dont blame me if I spell stuff wrong)

DOF was set at .4 (I dont remeber what was set at .4)

Antialiasing was set at 30 samples per pass / 30 passes.

It took around 68 hours to render.

I actually think that the 1 ring pic looks a little more realistic, but the 3 rings pic is definately more fun to look at.

did you know sketchy’s DeepBlur plugin for the sequencer

it has a nice result

Maybe you could point me there with a link? :smiley:

Holy hell, 68 hours!
I guess I shouldn’t be surprised though.