3D Anime Analyses and Breakdowns

Hello,

Today, I wanted to post observations that I have made while watching various 3D anime, and I hoping that others could contribute to it as well. Please move this to the correct forum if this is not in the right place. Also, if this has been discussed before, please post a link on here, as there was too many topics to look through when I searched “anime.”

##I guess people don’t like breakdowns to be too long and leaving out details, so I added a TLDR to this##

DISCLAIMER: These are all analyses that I have made myself, so I could be wrong, or cannot explain it as clearly as someone else can. Since I am a character modeler, most points that I will be talking about have to do with character design and animation. SPOILERS AHEAD.

Table of Contents

• Intro
    [LIST]

• Listing which anime that I’ve studied the most as of this posting.

• Analyses and Breakdowns of each animation

• Since there is a character limit, I have to move the overall animation breakdowns here.

• Character animation

• Looking like a robot is a major problem that most of these animation studios have. While in 2D characters can stand still and it won’t break the scene, it doesn’t translate well to 3D. Other times, there’s just a little too much movement going on with a character. We’ll be looking at walking/running animations, body language, and gestures.

• Shadows

• Some studios have different approaches to their shadows. Some look better, some look worse, some are just personal preference. I’ll discuss cast shadows, shadow maps, and shadows built into the texture.

• Facial animation

• The facial animation depends on the studio. Some will go realistic while others will blatantly try to do 2D faces. Nothing wrong with either as long as they are done correctly. However, lip-syncing is where most animations kill their characters. Lip-syncing, facial expressions, and textures/shadow maps used for emphasis will be discussed.

• More to be added