3D-Concept Artist: Are they needed?

Hello all.

I’m interested in you guys perspective on the topic of 3D-Concept Design.

I’m 28, and I’m aiming to become a professional 3D- Artist at some point. I worked in Sales and as a Videographer up until now.

It’s kind of hard for me to decide on what I want to become. So far I LOVE practicing 3D so I know that as of now it wasn’t just my childhood ambition - but I really do like it.

The thing is I dont really want to just become a production artist. I’m much more into designing my own stuff.

But I keep hearing that 3D-Concept designers arent really needed in the industry or even as freelancers.

On top of that im 28 with no prior experience in the 3D Industry. All of those guys started at a far younger age than me.

What’s your perspective?

The TL;DR: would be:

I’m very interested in 3D-Concept Design but I keep hearing that it has no real demand.

There are two options, one is to consider doing things the way you want without following rules or trends. However you must come to a point of producing a volume of work -that is impressive- that will get everybody looking for you. This is a contrarian mindset to do anything you want provided that you might or might not find work in the field.

And the other way is to follow practical trends and requirements just to hit the checkboxes, so then you can can find someone to hire you. This is more reserved mindset where you must compromise to certain technical standards and play with the rules.

I can’t decide which option from the two is better. As for me personally I roll with the first option because I am more of more experimental in nature, thus I don’t work in graphics field for this reason. I find research much more exciting than making the best artwork.