3D Graffiti/Typography (animated?)

Hey, I started working on this kinda funky 3D graffiti/typography. I’ve got some cool ideas as to how I can animate it, but I’ll have to do a little bit of learning before I can achieve those ideas.

I think I’m going to model a simple underground subway station scene for it to sit against, or maybe a warehouse. In both cases it will be mostly a white background with heavy fluorescent lighting.

To make the model I created a simple segment and used an array modifier with a curve modifier, extruding the curve until the typeface looked alright, and then pushing verts on the curve to avoid intersection of the “band.”

I want the color gradient texture to run along the length of the band (so each letter is R/O/Y/G/B/V, ish.) I’m not very good with texturing/unwrapping so I’m gonna have to look a little more in to that, unless anyone can tell me a simple way to do it with this kinda of a shape. The texture is a 5000x1000 pixel gradient.

I also rendered a short little rotating view so you could see the shape a little better, sorry for the low resolution.

lemeknowhatchyathank

Attachments

Hey, looks good

To easily animate the texture map the gradient to an empty and animate the empty.

If you want to get more complex with the texture and UV unwrap I think a project from view would work just fine.

Thanks Manti, I’ll give that a go!

Somethin’ like this, probably a brick/cinder block texture (painted white) for the wall.

What do you guys think?

Attachments

I may add some objects for the foreground but for now I like the look of the scene, I know there’s other things I can do though, please let me know! Harsh crits welcome.

For now I’m going to try to get the text looking right.

Attachments

Update, done for a day or two while I’m away.

Attachments

i really like the effect!