3D Modeling and Digital Painting WIP

I have begun work on a simple scene involving a space shuttle following the work flow found in the Blend and Paint Blender DVD. I am going to post pics of the work that I have done so far and request that you guys give me some feedback on how I can increase the quality of my model and artwork itself. Thanks.

Attachments

I’m a newbie myself, but it seems to me it would help if you posted a wire frame of your model ?

Also, are you working from reference, or making it up as you go along ?

How do i render a wireframe, I can’t seem to figure out how to do it.

The easiest for display purposes it to use a single square image texture mapped to UV in your material, and just use regular Unwrap so all the faces line up to the square. Make it a solid white square with a colored border, and the colored border should line up to your edges for rendering. Much easier than the old way of duplicating your mesh and using a Z offset for a wire material.

I’ve never been good at UV Unwrapping. I haven’t learned everything considering I’m self taught, maybe you can help me out a bit. Heres the .blend

Attachments

BlendandPaintTut.blend (704 KB)

http://www.4shared.com/file/OMitp-lA/BlendandPaintTutrev1.html

Here is a revised file with a simple material and unwrap to get the wire render showing. I think you had unwrapped parts of the mesh at one point, because they already appeared to be placed in the Image Editor view when I selected them and swapped to edit mode. If that is the case, you will need to use your original project file for the continuing UV image painting.

I found it useful!