3D Studio Max 7

(digital_domain) #1

Hi,
I just downloaded 3DS MAX 7. I have come to appreciate how good Blender really is. For example, i’ve only started learning 3DS Max but already i see the limitations of view points in 3DS. Blender your free to explore and edit 360 degree view point. 3DS MAx you seem to fixed with side top front view etc. It can be rotated and edit but nothing like the simple use of holding down the middle mouse button and panning. Sure, 3DS got all the texture and material set ups for yout disposal but i feel a true artist should be able to create these from scratch anyway.
Well, i stick with 3DS for the moment, cause im told its the best (alongside Maya) however, its yet to be shown. Im thinking Blender is truely the one ‘manual’ orientated 3D application with great flexibility. I’ll let you know when i know how to use 3DS properly.
Any1 know of any good ‘starting out’ tutorials for 3DS.
Thnx.

0 Likes

(darkcgi) #2

I have extensive knowledge of 3DSMAX and it has its pluses but it doesnt stand up to blender
not even. I could elaborate but its not necessary.
2 of my friends use MAX at work and I showed them some stuff on blender and they were like
wow you can do that and its free awesome.
They call me a BlenderHead.
as for tutorials www.3dbuzz.com
register for free and watch videos on how to max

0 Likes

(oogsnoepje) #3

*falls out of chair :ba:

0 Likes

(yogyog) #4

3DS Max 7 in relation to Blender…

Plusses:
Camera Tracking (not that good, but OK)
Rendering (Slower but better)
Built-in tex liberies and help (This is the big one)

Minusses:
Auful low-poly modelling
Auful rigging system
Uses far more power
No Sculpt mode
Soft-body limeted to standard primitives

The main way to explain the difference: - Blender tools are knifes - simple and adapterble, caperble of being used for a lot of things, where as 3DS Max tools are devices for removing apple cores. There’s more of hem, but they’re not as good.

0 Likes

(Berk) #5