3D tutor requires help

Hi all,

Im not new to Blender or 3D but have recently been looking into blenders game engine.

I’m a 3D tutor and have some call off my students to help them creat a game, which is fine with me but in order for this to fit with their studies it needs to fit into certain unit criteria.

One of the critiera is that a level for one game needs to be created in a 2D engine.

The next criteria is that the learners create a 3D level with a 3D engine, obviously Blender is perfect for this.

So I have a two fold question.

A) Does anyone know of a free or open source 2D engine that has the same ease of use as the basics of BGE (I have already followed the tute on the Wiki and found it incredibly intuitve and straight forward). Ideally im after a 2D games engine that can be used for complete novices to games, so very little scripting would be helpfull.

B) Can anyone suggest any good tutorials on how to use the animations created in blender with the BGE?

Thanks for reading this and hope it makes sense

I’m sure the game engine has an orthographic mode. That might be good enough for 2d games?

Thanks for the reply Fobster,

But the unit requires that a 2D game engine be used, so I couldnt create it in blender as its 3D engine if you see what i mean.

I had already considered that possibily …thanks though

Game Maker for 2D.

Thanks i will check out Game Maker is it fairly straight forward and esy to learn ??

The easiest 2D game program ever is RPG maker xp. It costs some money but there is a slighter older version that is called RPG maker 2003 that is free. Game maker is good, but RPG maker is even better and you learn it all in 30 min.

I would keep away from Game maker, You would be better off trying to down a glass of donkey diarrhea… You should try This if you want something more than just a toy but professional enough for indie game designers without breaking the bank.