5-6 weeks and im going nowhere

okay, basicly, so far im not really getting all that far in blender, and there are alot of buttons i kinda want to touch but fear if i do my screen might explode… kablam… cha… just like that. anywho, i have a few questions.

A.) how patient should i be with blender? do i have to sculpt every last detail down to the corner or am i doing it the slow way? lets say you were making a human, how long would it take?

B.) are there any tutorials on explosions, now im not very good with the terminology but i dont just mean watching the faces of the mesh’s be pushed into random locations in the air, i mean like… kablamo… y’know… fire… teh burning… that kind of thing? if not, what do i call that? particle somthing or other i keep hearing

and… i think i can end the questions there… but… yah. lil’ halp. oh and, any lil’ tips on the side would be apreciated. so far iv modeled an eye with eyelids… a little cartoony… but it works ;). but thats not all ofc, a snowman, a stick… well iv done quite a bit of modeling. but im still going nowhere, please halps.

A) you need to be patient with your learning curve, not with Blender. And you not only need to learn the tool but the basics of drawing the human body to understand basically the anatomy of the subject that you’re gonna model. Modeling a human body takes as long as 2-5 hours to weeks, depending on the knowledge of the user.

B) An explosion could be a mix of various techniques, as well as particles with explode modifier, more particles to make smoke, some random meshes to make debris. I think that i’ve seen tutorials on explosions, smoke trails, nuclear explosions, and all that, try googling :wink:

It’s an art medium. Suppose it were a pencil: almost anyone can pick up a pencil and make a doodle immediately, but to draw a photorealiistic render in pencil takes a lot of time, and a lot of knowledge and practice beforehand.