A better way to accurately add cuts to this face?

This is likely a simple question to answer, but I’m still new to blender and while I found out -A- way to do this, I’m not convinced it was the best way lol.

So I am making a fan vent, which could probably have been done in Fusion much easier, but I wanted to do it in blender as something to learn on.

The part I’m at here (I included a picture) I wanted to add two cuts on the narrow face, so that I could extrude a small tab out which I could make a screw-hole in. But the problem I had, was that I wanted this tab to be central (and 6mm wide), which means that each cut needed to be 3mm from the centre of the face.

However, the ‘loop cut’ tool would default to the very centre of the face, and I would then have to move it by hand in one direction… which was fine. But then when I do the second loop cut, it defaults to the centre -of the new face-, which is nowhere near where I needed it. And so its hard to accurately move it to the right location.

What I ended up doing, was selecting the two long edges, and subdividing into 22 sections. This put the right block in the centre. I then had to select the unwanted 21 faces, and dissolve those faces.

I did try to mirror the object, and then do a loop cut. But while the object was properly mirrored (X-axis, X-bisect), it seemed to ignore any loop cuts I made for some reason. Not sure why.

Hopefully this made sense. As I say, I’ve ended up with the right result, but I’m sure I did it the long-winded way, and I’d rather know the RIGHT way!

Heres the picture. The arrow points to the new face I made, which was my goal.

You can scroll the mouse wheel during the loop cut operation to add multiple equidistant loop cuts. Would that be helpful?

Press ctrl+B with the single center edge loop selected.