A dark corner

Hi everybody, I’ve been lurking for a few days and finally decided to register. I’m fairly new to working with Blender and don’t spend nearly as much time with it as I would like to. And being german, I sometimes have some trouble understandig the Blender vocabulary. I’m now ploughing my way through the online manuals and the wiki but I’m sure I’ll have many questions to ask before I can say I “know” the programme.

Ok, to cut things short: I created this picture yesterday and would like to hear some criticism. Sadly, I can’t get to the corrections right now cause five minutes after finishing the job, my PC caused a power outage in the house and died. But I’d still like to hear your opinions so I can make the changes when the beast is back.

Attachments

bin auch deutsch :smiley:

I really like the idea and the feeling of the scene, but some things can be improved:

1. Where is the light from the right coming from? a flash light? a car head light?

2. To get that weird shading on the cylinders away, switch to “edit mode” and press Ctrl+N (recalculate normals)

3. The texture on the wall is too flat. One way to help change that is to turn on “Nor” in the texture’s “map to” panel.

Hi BonE,

hallo! :slight_smile: The light on the right is supposed to come from a flashlight, as in “Look what I discovered, it’s a scandal”. I spent at least one hour trying to get it right and am still not too convinced.

1. Ctrl-N, okay.

2. Will do. :slight_smile:

Thanks for commenting!

looks great :slight_smile: but you might want to change the scene a little so it makes more sense… set the setting in a dark corner of a warehouse, with a barred window near the top of the back wall above the oil, and have that be your light source.

Thanks! You mean instead of the flashlight or of the street lamp? I was thinking about making a window - might have done it if my PC hadn’t crashed.