A letter of annoyance to all the humble bragging newcomers

Hey all,

I don’t know who this message will find, but here goes.

Every day I see some new featured post, and I think hmm, wow, this looks nice, let me click on it to get more context, to see the art work in a bigger size, and to maybe learn more about the process behind the piece.

Almost EVERY single time I see the description that goes something along the lines of (this will be exaggerated, to illustrate my point):

"Hey, this is my first piece ever in 3D, I’ve never used blender before, or even touched a computer in my life, oh and this intricate, detailed piece, that is very professional and high quality was done in about 2 hours, you know, just had a bit of extra time, thought i’d give it a go…

CC is welcome’’

It annoys me beyond any comprehendable levels. I really wish people didn’t do that. I know they are proud and happy and all, but I really don’t care how long you’ve been doing it for!

Do you really want criticism, and tips on how to improve? Then the fact that this is your first render doen’t matter at ALL. Skip this part of your description. You’ll get better reviews and criticisms.

Thats all from me.

1 Like

You might consider that maybe they don’t express themselves best through their (english) writing, and that they might also write like that because they are afraid of brutal criticisms if they don’t mention they’re beginners.

Never posted artwork here, but in other lives I’ve totally lied to people about something taking a day when it really took weeks 'cause I was embarrassed about how long it took me.

Either way, there are many things in this world I find annoying but I accept that there are different personalities who won’t always do what I want. And as long as they aren’t harming anyone or in this case, making discussions unbearable, I say “enjoy the art.”

But I’ll agree that it blows when we’re frustrated.

1 Like