A new project to last a lifetime...

Well, just to prove how crazy I really am I finally started work on a project that i’ve been planning for a long time. Right now i’m a freshman in college and i’ve been planning this project out for the past three years or so. That said, work at the beginning has been a little slow to say the least. It has taken me six months to get the first two minutes of an animation finished and rendered. Sadly, the file size is huge, and I don’t think i’ll be able to post it, however I will try and post some screenshots in a little while, but first let me explain the premise of this project.

First of all, i’m a huge fan of Star Wars, as i’m sure a lot of you are. In response to my child-like obsession for lightsabers, spaceships, and the force, I have begun a project that will take me the course of my natural life to finish, if it can be finished at all. I have spent the last three years of my life planning out a new Star Wars game that I would like to create. Although i’ve only been using blender for about three years or so, I would consider myself to be an advanced user (humbly :-)), but I have spent the last ten years studying different programming languages and what aspects go into game programming specifically. Just to prove that i’m not going into this project half-heartedly I will tell you that I have spent many hours storyboarding, modeling, animating, rendering, studying c++ and different code structures, and everything else all the way down to scoring this game. hehe. I don’t need to tell you that it’s almost driven me insane, but i’ve managed to get somewhere recently and i’ve decided to continue my pursuit of this dream. Here I will post some information about the project that might come in useful for others who are thinking along doing something of this magnitude, and then I will try to post some screenshots of parts of the project i’ve been working on.

Modeling - Blender 2.36 - Current; Terragen (landscapes)