A Noobi explores materials

Hi,
I have a little modeling and art experience but I am fairly new to Blender so I thought I would start out by exploring materials and those cool builtin textures. The landscape here is not very good but it is simple. It’s a plane subdivided four times, some points at one end pulled up to form a distant mountain range, several `color ramp’ divisions and a cloud texture. The tent got a 64x64 pixel jpeg; half red and half white. the center got a tiled treatment while the pie sections on the ends were each done separately. Fair to say, I love CGI for the motion and not so much for high detail still images. Never the less, All these great toys in Blender have me thinking about elephant hide, ostrich feathers, sequines, spot lights:spin:

Attachments

I think you built there a cleverly light little scene. You could have used a wood procedural texture to get the red and white stripes. Looks like a good start to me.
the material tutorials on the blender wiki (summer of doc) are very good:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/BSoD/Introduction_to_Materials

Thanks for the link. Those are some nice tutorials even if a little basic.

This is what 100,000 blades of grass look like when spread over several acres:)

I need to add some objects to the scene now to establish a visual refference of scale. I’ve tried a preliminary human figure standing at the side opening of the tent and he was too small to really show up on the render. Now is when I have to decide an era. Should I have model `T’s, horse and wagons, spaceships?

Attachments

A very prelimenary elephant. He’s not ready for a closeup yet but he will get there. Also there’s a very high detail tiny human figure (imported from my old Anim8or days.) You can almost see him.

Attachments