A technical hallway inspired by "Alien"

Hi All!

I’m rather new to Blender and still learning a lot. I’ve been using Blender 2.49 for low poly modeling, but recently I switched to 2.5 and finally decided to create my first ever bigger project.

The choice was rather simple. I’ve always wanted to recreate the hallways of Nostromo towing vehicle from “Alien” (directed by Ridley Scott and released in 1979). Below you can see the current phase of the project (phase 3). Most of the models have materials or textures applied, however there are still a few that need some tweeking. Particularily the ceiling is a pure clay model (no materials nor textures). The right side of the tunnel is still under construction (it’s already modeled but not textured).

The lighting is currently more a test then a final version, so many things are about to change in a couple of days. I know it’s dark, and it should be to emphasize the gloomy atmosphere of the ship. In future I plan to add however a bit more light in the front view.

it’s so dark i can’t see a thing

Yep. I know. That’s why it’s still in progress. Additional lights will be added on the right side of the tunnel. I hope to do it in the upcoming days.

I’ve updated some lights to show more details of the left side of the tunnel. There’s still no textures on the right side.

It seems like a shooting game? So dark!

Nice work so far, but it’s still hard to see. I get that the film is dark, which is the point, but there is a lot in that film where the dark is broken up with shafts of light (which I love) and smoke, etc.

http://www.scifiscoop.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/alien.jpg

Didn’t seem to find any good refs without going to fetch the dvd, load it up, get a screen cap…