Account deletion

I would like to delete my account and all associated personal data. I can’t find the option to do it on the account settings page.

Hi,

In our process, we don’t delete accounts as that would break existing conversations. We can however, anonymize it for you—this keeps all the posts on the site, but changes the username and email, and resets all profile information. If that’s what you’d like to do, please confirm by replying.

That seems like a baffling position to take, given that I can personally go and delete my own comments, thus “breaking existing conversations”, but sure, please anonymity my account (ie remove all personal data).