Adding vertecties and edges

Hi Everyone,

I’m a NDS Homebrew developer who has recently delved into 3D programming. I first began by drawing polys manually with code by just plotting points and was unaware of an open source 3D drawing tool… until now.

I’ve been watching the video tutorials put out by blender underground and I’m learning quite rapidly. I’m currently watching the 3rd tutorial and have stepped through a vase tutorial as well, so I understand the UI pretty well and how many of the tools work. The question I have to ask seems a bit odd, because it feels like it should be more simple (and maybe it is), but I just can’t figure out a simple way to do it. Here’s what I have at the moment, I scaled a bit and beveled the edges of the startup cube, except on one face, the “right” side. Looking at that face this is what I see:

http://maximus-dev.com/images/model_snap.png

Basically, what I’m wanting to do is add vertecies and edges… almost draw them on if at all possible so that I can afterwards select and drag certain vertecies outward (along x in this perspective) to produce the shape I’m aiming for on this side. The trouble is that the loop cut and knifing tools seem to add edges I’m not wanting and I haven’t got the control down to get what I’m looking for.

I apologize for it being a bit vague, but lets just say I have what you see now, and I’d want to create something like this (bad mspaint mock-up):

http://maximus-dev.com/images/model_snap2.png

Is there a best approach when needing to to kind-of freely create edges/vertecies like this?

Thanks to everyone in advance,
Sylus

I cant really see whats going on properly, could you send a shot in vertex mode with everything de-selected?

I couldn’t post the image on my webspace from work, but attached it instead, I also attached an angled view just to see the model.