Advanced Materials Hints

I have been using Blender for a few years now and if there is one thing that I am really stagnating on, it’s my materials knowledge. I can make the basic wood, cloud, image textures, but much beyond that I am really pretty poor and although my modelling continues to grow, it feels like the materials hold me back. I’ve seen what Blender materials can do in the right hands and I want to work towards that.

Would some of the better materials users here at Elysiun be willing to share tips/tricks for learning to create better materials? Thanks.

Sure i’ll give you some tips. You can use some of the varonai (can’t spell it good) textures or noise algorithms or ramp shading to create organic material. And full OSA helps a lot if you want a high nor value for a crusty rough surface.

no? really? you think? maybe he should use colors too! but it’s not very helpful is it?

I suggest looking for tutorials - there are many out there.
I also suggest understending how the blender material system works…
Just looking at stuff and look for farmilier patterns that can be mimiked using blender procedurals and outher features.
Experimenting works for me (though it’s quit hard to do so with complex files).
I don’t like using everything at once - use some features together so every feature of the material could be seen - instead of a mess of textures and reflection and ramps and blah blah blah.
Using UV maps can make an image superb especially when you make layers for bump, spec, disp and so on (this is really good for organics).

Here’s an effect that I have seen used a few time, but I can’t figure out. A material where there is a metal surface that in some places is rusted. In the places where the rust is present, the color of the material is rust colored, as opposed to the rest which is the paint color of the metal. I’m totally stumped on that one.

If someone could offer an example of this that would be great as a start. Thanks again.