Advice about progressing in 3D art

Hello, I am new in this industry. I’m working hard to get better everyday, but I have a question; I want to create characters but I don’t know where to start. I didn’t sculpt before and I am not very good in 2D art. I am also drawing everyday to get better at 2D art. What are your suggestions ?
I was modelling objects and interiors for 2-3 months to know Blender better. But I believe my passion is creating charaters.
And I am very scared about starting to learn sculpting/character modelling. It seems very hard and it looks like if I don’t have a talent for it I’ll fail. I want to see what community think.
Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Talent comes primarily from repetition. Starting out, you’re going to have to accept the fact that you’re going to struggle plenty, everything will seem overly difficult, and your results won’t seem to be worth the time and effort you put in making it.

Realize that it isn’t just you. It’s something everyone goes through to some extent. As long as you keep at it, work through those moments of discouragement, and challenge yourself, you’ll eventually get good.

5 Likes

Thank you, I guess I needed someone to say these words. It means a lot to me. I’ll keep working hard and challenge myself no matter what.

1 Like

Also, try to have fun with it. Goofing around has probably done more for me than hours of drills and practice.

1 Like

Yes you are right. It was the main reason to get started with blender at first. I will remember that.

I am not a character artist but I wanted to chime in and say when you are not sure how to progress often you can just work on copying a work you admire. You will learn a lot in this process. Of course you want to structure developing your own voice too but often the most efficient use of time is focused copying.

2 Likes

Thanks for that advice, I think it’s a good beginning too.

2 Likes