Advice on my drum

Hello dudes,

My name is Wesley i’m a graphic designer and beginner to 3d. I present to you a drum i modeled for a personal project. Took me 8 days to modeling this stuff because i had to learn blender first. I want advice about the modeling. I have problem with the upper part because my reference has leather with folding and i do my best to put more details as i can without lots of polygons. I know in high poly modeling you should have quad polygons and i have 2 questions:

The worst: Why should have quads on high poly?
2nd: How can i do that without explode the polygon count.

I have the same problem on the screw

I join few screenshot because i don’t know how to make clay render (with the wire, it’s clay right?) and 2 quick render.

Hope can have critics.

Soon everybody :wink:

Attachments

It is my understanding that quads are necessary because of adding the subsurf modifier.
The subsurf modifier is great for making thing look smooth and it does a great job.
It does this by cutting the faces into smaller faces. When you have quads, things work out nicely, but when you have triangles, it might not be able to subdivide it or it might create to many lines going to the same point. This causes pinches.

To correct this, you need to spend time planning. Faceloops and redirecting edges are two main methods I use to do this effectively. Each model is different and requires unique consideration.

Edit:
I have worked a little on a screw head made of quads. It’s low quality, but it works.
Johnathan Williamson has a discussion on how to model a screw 16 minutes into the video tutorial here:http://cgcookie.com/blender/2011/12/23/modeling-exercise-review-modeling-the-little-bot-bunny-character/

Attachments

At the size you render those screws, there is no need to apply subsurf modifier on them. Just add subsurf to what needs it. Things that usually have a sharp look don’t necessarly need subsurf.