Advice on teaching Blender

I have 5 days to teach the basics of Blender. And i am a student in an Office Tech 2 class, and my teacher gave me permission to teach a little about Blender. I will first teach about the UI, then i will teach the cloth system, then fluids, and ‘Bullet’ the physics engine, but i need something that would be a good lesson on modeling, for the last day.

I need something cool to model but still be able to finish it within like 50 minutes…

Any ideas of what i could do?

hmm, is the class given to people with prior 3d knowledge? or people that are clueless about 3d?

It seems weird to me that you’d give a modelling class on the last day…while starting with complex simulation like cloth and fluid…

mmm, maybe i could model the second day after UI intro, but its a class that has no idea what Blender is, much less 3d modeling/software.

I would do :

UI
Vital functions
Modelling and modifiers
Materials/texturing
Animation, ipo’s,actions etc…
Compositing

and then the hard stuff : simulations,particules,softbodies etc…

why don’t you take them through the process of completing a short animation/still? then they could learn whilst doing. It would give them a reason to say “how do I?” rather than “why should I?”…IMO 3D graphics is all about problem solving.

I would say there’s probably no need to go into physics, cloth or fluid unless you’re teaching a vfx class.

If I were you, I would study the Blender Underground tutorials on Blender Basics (or at the very least refer to them in your class) as they are far and away the most detailed, logical and complete set of tutorials I have ever watched.

Sounds like a cool class anyway - good luck!
Dan

Is this more of a demonstration or an actual class where you expect people to actually use Blender afterwards?

Mh

5 day? I teach blender and I would not spend one day on the interface.

Prepare a hand out with the common modeling tools and keys like:

G Grab
R Rotate
E Extrude
B Select
S Scale
F Fill