after effects and blender, creating a video portfolio

Hi, I am still relatively new to blender and I was wondering about adobe after effects and blender. I have seen a couple videos that have used blender for the animation and adobe after effects to complete the project and video production and they came out great!

My question is…is there an ‘open source’ program that is similar to after effects. I am making a digital portfolio and have want to have an amazing “flash type” intro and then a short animation (created in blender), and then the rest of my work…

Is after effects the best way to produce something like this or should I look into adobe flash or something??

I have never used Adobe After Effects or Adobe Flash, so any comments would be appriciated…

Thanks

I think Blender is a great open source alternative to After Effects.
I’ve seen some pretty amazing results from people making use
of Blender nodes and compositing. I wouldn’t completely X out
After Effects if you have it, but definitely look into the other features
Blender has to offer outside of 3D modeling.

I agree.

I never liked after FX and much prefer sequencing and compositing in blender… I’m sure afterFX has better live action tools (animated 2d mattes workflow probably more streamlined for example) but for all cg work blender is the best open source sequencing and compositing app in my opinion.