Aircraft Carrier, DDG, and Satellite...

Working on an animation for my work, really like the toon shader so far.
The ships need some more detail, especially the DDG. The Satellite is huge and low in the sky for a reason,just in case you’re wondering.

I’m thinking about adding some slight wake behind the ships, and making clouds that don’t look like hats. :o

This looks really cool! What’s the animation for?

Thanks! I’m fairly new to blender and 3D modeling programs in general, been at it only a month or so.

It’s for a simple demostration of how the Navy transfers calibration data to ships. Information goes from point A to B to C to D… etc.
It’s a lot more technical and in depth then that but it be boring to explain it all.

I need to figure out a good way of visually showing connections between all the locations via waves/dashes/etc. Right now I’m using blocky dashes, they’re okay, but I can’t think of anything better ATM.

So any ideas on how to add some more simple details (ocean waves, wake, jet stream, etc) would be great.

Wow, that’s really good for just starting out. Maybe you could do the “wave” symbols between them like )))

Love the work. Only criticism I have is that all the clouds look like cowboy hats :D. Other than that maybe have the satelite in the background on the right hand side and have the jets flying toward the land about to go feet dry.

I like the look of the clouds that look like hats, can I maybe suggest you have different shapes for the clouds.

The toon shader looks great and vibrant, Would you mind sharing some settings?

@Lamhaidh & Stuart.t: Yeah the clouds are weak, still haven’t made any that look decent. They all keep looking like hats or piles of poop.

@ Darklimit: Thanks. What settings are you looking for exactly?
Most of the material settings are similar.

Smooth: around .05
Intensity: around .9
Size varies between .8 & 1.3 depending on the model
Most have the spec turned off, or set very low with high hardness.