Airplane : Sopwith Pup

Hi everyone. I’m new on BA so I guess this is the occasion to present myself quickly (sorry if this is the wrong place), and especially the little project I’ve been working on for a few days.

I’m a french student of 24 years. I used Maya a few years ago (mainly did some tutorials), then Blender, but never got so far with it, and I did nothing very interesting. I’ve now used Blender rather ‘intensively’ for 3 weeks, and I’m very motivated to progress. I did principally tutorials from BlenderGuru (The Boeing 747, Spaceship corridor and Clouds ; BlenderGuru’s tutos are what got me very motivated, I must say) and some ‘everyday objects’ to practice modeling.

In the past week I began a project to practice, and in a attempt to make my first real ‘important’ modeling. I wanted to do a WW1 airplane, and chose the Sopwith Pup, a relatively widespread plane in this war, and which seemed relatively simple to do. I use blueprints to make sure the proportions are correct.

Latest render :

Here is the first render :

I put the wireframe too, if any of you are interested (not sure if this is the best method to show it, but fow now I don’t know how to render it better :smiley: ):

I saw some planes here before, I hope mine will interest some people too :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for your feedback and advice.

Military Meshes site has some very good tutorials using Blender on building aircraft ,including WW1 vintage .
You look like you’ve got the hang of it though.

This is a nice start asmoth. Looking forward to seeing it textured. I’m assuming it’ll be the traditional khaki-green colour? Reason I ask is because the local RAAF base near me has theirs painted in white.

Also I think you might need to subdivide the bottom wing as well. It’s got a sharp edge on on the wingtip which I noticed.