Algebra & Python

I’m just wondering, about how much experience would someone need to be “fluent” in Python? Would I need a heavy knowledge of algebra to create a script such as a particle fluid simulator? I’m in 8th grade learning Algebra 1 so I don’t understand this:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/math/7/0/5/705280de2a05f4a562620c40ede6d699.png
but I can solve basic equations like linear equations. In short, would it be logical to try and write scripts with only an 8th grade math knowledge?

I am just learning Python myself, but to my knowledge, you don’t necessarily need a heavy math background to do coding, especially Python. However, if you’re going to write a particle fluid simulator, I’m almost positive you’ll need a bit more math. Try googling something like “mathematics of fluid dynamics.” That will be a good starting point.
Hope that helps ; )

Yes,
It is always worth trying. Coding is more about logic rather than math.

Its not about experience. Somebody from another language could probably switch quite easily to Python and be “fluent.” Its more about what you can create and how “pythonic” (i.e. concise) it can be. Of course that’s all subjective, since there really is no test for “fluency” in programming languages.

Would I need a heavy knowledge of algebra to create a script such as a particle fluid simulator? I’m in 8th grade learning Algebra 1 so I don’t understand this:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/math/7/0/5/705280de2a05f4a562620c40ede6d699.png
but I can solve basic equations like linear equations.

You’d probably need a decent knowledge of calculus to do something like a particle fluid simulator. To be frank, though, all you really need to realize is that a derivative is a fancy word for taking the slope of an arbitrary curve. To do so numerically is relatively simple. There may be some vector concepts you could miss out upon, and going it alone could be frustrating if you don’t have some educational background in it.