alpha mask ??

I apologize in advance that I am relatively new to blender and I don’t know the correct terminology, so I will try and explain this as well as possible.

Is it possible to create an object that functions as a mask, so that when I render, anything behind the object shows up transparent?

I am creating an animation of a circular saw for a game, and I would only like the top half of the saw to show, so it looks like it is halfway through the ground.

All help is extremely appreciated.

If your objects are created via Blender in 3D then there’s no need to create a mask, Blender can do it for you. e.g. Saw is on scene layer 1, Ground is on layer 2, place scene lighting on layer 3. Go to the “Render Layers” tab in the render buttons (F10). Label the default render layer “Saw” via the text field that reads “1 RenderLayer” by clicking teh field and typing the new name. Notice there are two rows of square buttons on this tab. The row above the text field is Labeled “Scene:”. Be sure that layers 1, 2, & 3 are enabled in this row. These are simply visibility flags that tell Blender that if an object resides on any of these layers which are set visible, they should be included in the render in some manner.