Am I asking too much?

Hi, I was wondering if somebody might b able to help me. recently I’ve begun building a walk through of a city for my end of year show, a bit like mayb a GTA sorta idea but without the weapons and stuff. I’m only new at this so mayb I’ve bitten off more than I can chew! Basically so far I’ve build some georgian fronts and when i duplicate the mesh and compose a street.It seems to be too much for the game engine and the programe doesn’t respond. It just crashes.

You may be using too many polys. A screenshot would help diagnose the problem.

Omg I’m sorry, but how do u add an attachment to this forum? Please excuse my stupidity!! :I

As PlantPerson said…You are likely to be modelling your objects with too many verts or faces (polys).

Games need to have much lower Poly counts than renders or animations or what have you.
Although the problem maybe something entierely different so follow PlantPersons advice.

Sorry! here’s a screenshot that might help.

http://picasaweb.google.com/marzzzzypan/Blender#5320460420757355730

I was a bit worried it might have something to do with that. Is the only solution then to have images of buildings mapped onto simple mesh objects?

I think it’s the only solution, but if you make prober use of normal maps and alpha textures, you won’t see much difference. For example, you can use normal maps for the windows.

OK, cool thanks I’ll try that. One more question. Would you build the windows and doors then as seperate objects rather than keep it all on the same mesh?

I never mentioned that. I assume you already know you can use more than one material on a object. It rather use one object for the building, but with seperate meshes for windows and doors (in the same object).