Am I too old for the cg industry?

Hey guys/gals,

As the title suggests I am wondering does age discriminate in the computer graphics industry whether that be modelling, animation , etc. Basically I graduated in Computer Science and am now working as a programmer for a big multi national company. Sounds great but to be honest it bores me to death. Film and gaming has always been my passion and to my surprise we did a 3 month module in college on computer graphics which entailed learning a bit about cg using 3ds Max. I loved it but it was an off the wall module and totally unrelated to the rest of the course. I had to leave learning anything further about cg because of other projects in my final year. Now I am regretting that I didn’t go to college to learn about animation, etc. I have never used Blender but I hear its along the lines of 3ds Max which I was very comfortable with, I made this short animation as an assignment in the cg module(Don’t laugh, it was my first animation!) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j8zDg7-LVsM

I’m 27 in June. Even if I put in the work, what are the prospects of any sort of career in the industry? I just bought a book (Blender Foundations: Essential Guide to Learning Blender 2.6) to get me back into it. I can’t go back to college because of financial constraints but I have no problem studying on my own. Are college certificates/degrees required?

Thanks,
Alan

You aren’t too old, junior.
An impressive showreel/portfolio and a little networking is all that’s required.