Amsterdammertje

Hey,

I made an “Amsterdammertje” That is a sort of pole, very common seen in Amsterdam. I modelled this in Blender, but I don’t know how I should make the material. Or how you call the material so I can search for a texture. This an photo of the "Amsterdammertje, as seen in Amsterdam:

Thanks!

Which render engine are you planning to use?

Oh sorry, my fault, Cycles :slight_smile:

a mix of diffuse and glossy with a fresnel factor of around 1.5/1.6, and for the dirt, mix the previous result with a pale diffuse, with a texture as a factor…

You can add a bit of bump to make it look more realistic, and some variations in the colors.

Are you in amsterdam at the moment?
how about making the textures from actual photographs you make?

I did that with the diffuse and glossy with a fresnel factor of 1.5:

But it doesnt look good:

Sorry, I am a noob with creating materials my self

@Arcudo

I could do that, but will that look good. Looping would and there is always light that will have influence

Thanks both of you!

you need to plug the frenel in the “fac” of the mix node not in the displacement.

Also I think the glossy reflection color should be white

I think it would look good, you mean tiling not looping? well there are ways around that.

also there a re tools to generate all kinds of maps, like the gimp-insanebump plugin. there is also an option to remove light on the texture, you may want to give it a try

Hmmm… It does look the same. I will try a photo texture

well you also need to add the material to the top^^ to see any effect ?

Little bit better, but not much.

Thanks for the help!

here’s an example of what i meant…

of course, you can change the dirty mask to a texture mask, add colors to the dirt, and to the red diffuse, change the bump map… but this is the basic idea.