Animate a manta ray fin

Hey guys,

Guess what, I’m new to blender and I got some problems.

So I’d like to animate a flapping fin in blender

, kind of the sine wafe traveling through my flexible mesh along the z-Axis. I tried it in several ways. First I tried to make it with the curve modifier by moving the curve up and down. Yes, when I move the mesh up and down it looks pretty decent but I want the mesh to stay on its place.
But when I move the curve, my mesh somehow travels along the direction the curve is moving. So I tried to use the wave modifier. But there were some issues with the local dimensions and stuff and it looked really crappy. The last thing I tried was using an armature. But I don’t know how I should weight paint my model in order to get a realistic flexible looking. I cant just select whole “loop” because they arent horizotal. I actually want that the thinner the fin gets the smaller the peak. So I’m stuck there too. I really spent already pretty much time to figure out the right way but my Latin is on an end I guess :smiley:

Can somebody give me a tip, with which method I should make it and how?

Attachments

Simple solution: Wave modifier. :smiley:

You use an empty as “Start Position Object” and you set it on one edge of the fin.

The only constraint is that it works only on the Z axis… but you just need to rotate your fin to go around this limitation.

You add the Wave modifier and an Empty. You press [ALT A] and you play with the parameters and the position of the empty until you’re satisfied. Easy as pie. :wink:

Well thanks Kaluura :smiley:

Actually a pretty obvious solution haha! I should have just played around more with the variables and orientations and I’ have had it, but I never worked with the wave-mod before so…